The principal is considering a new grading policy that replaces letter or number grades on report cards with pass or fail. What is your position concerning this issue? Write an essay stating your position and supporting it with convincing reasons.

The head of the school feels that a revised grading policy should be considered by changing the letter or number grading system on report cards to an innovative structure that benefits the students. In my opinion, I believe replacing the letter or number grading system has the potential for better assessment if designed in a way that will not affect the self-esteem of the students. However, developing such an assessment tool is a challenge. The current grading system dates back almost a hundred years. This system over the years seems to have a negative effect on the mental health and development of the students. For example, when a student receives a grade of D or F, subconsciously he believes he is not good enough compared to his peers. This takes a toll on the self-confidence of the students. I concur, a better grading system should be proposed for the betterment of students. For instance, rather than giving grades or numbers, the system can be modified by giving remarks. For example, if a student scores a grade of A, he can be given a remark of 'excellent' whereas a score equivalent to D can be remarked as 'need to improve. Hence, it gives the motivation to improve the marks rather than feeling insecure. Some people argue that current developments and advancement in the nation are the consequences of the education system that already exists and therefore needs to be continued. A present grading system would help to pick the appropriate candidate for various fields. This can be exemplified by saying that professionals with high competency levels such as doctors, lawyers and scientists should be assessed aggressively for a quality outcome. I would like to conclude by saying that every enterprise has both positive and negative aspects. But trying to seek excellence despite poor mental health would do no good to that society which I strongly disagree with.