Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays through the internet, almost everyone has access to free books and music. This goes with downloading these, although they have a copyright. But what exactly are the pros and cons of that? In this essay I will write about the positive effects of this development and its drawbacks. On one side, modern technology leads to more illegal downloads of music and books, which means that musicians and authors don't get the money they deserve. For example, many people would just download music from youtube instead of paying a Spotify abonnement. This has obviously quite an impact on the artists, and is therefore a negative development. But looking at the other side, a lot of people can finally also get the opportunity to enjoy music and books for free, without it directly having an impact on the income of the artists. It's great that more people can have access to that. Also, we shouldn't forget, that without modern technology, current artists would probably never have made it to where they are now. Nowadays, it is much easier to publish songs and to make oneself popular through social media, youtube and Spotify. In conclusion, modern technology leads to some illegal downloads of music and books, but it just offers the possibility to many people to have access to books and music, which is very important. I believe that modern technology had more positive effects on society and the life of many people, and that those are outweighing the negative parts.