Many people argue that museums and art galleries should present the nation's art, as opposed to artworks from other countries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, the debate over whether or not national museums should exhibit foreign artwork has become a controversial argument. Whilst some opponents emphasize that this trend has a deleterious effect, some proponents and I adopt a diverse stance because exposure to different cultures broadens the horizons of individuals. In this essay, my contention will be further elaborated. To embark on, despite agreeing with the view that outlets of culture ought to have a wide range of variety in art, some critics discern that only national pieces of art should be displayed because this strengthens the sense of patriotism among locals. This means that presenting national pieces of art has a myriad of merits such as the fame the artists would gain and the pride the citizens would feel. An eminent example of this is the Egyptian Museum which exerts a great deal of effort to spotlight national work of art. Therefore, what can be said is that authorities should encourage domestic artists and local art. Nevertheless, thanks to exposure to various types of art, civilians have become significantly familiar with different cultures around the world. In other words, if inhabitants are allowed to expose to different cultures through art, this will raise their awareness and encourage them to acquire more information about different countries. This can be witnessed by the Louvre Museum which enables visitors to get acquainted with various masterpieces from different backgrounds. Accordingly, in a final analysis, cultural outlets play a quintessential role in fostering public knowledge. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that not only do museums support national artists, but also reducing national museums to local arts stands against the democratic nature of art. Eventually, I am a staunch believer that without the variety in art people could not have been knowledgeable.