Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the number of countries that soften their law because of the humaneness conception dramatically increased. And that’s why a lot of punishment became replaced with rehabilitation. So, some people support such changes whereas others argue that rehabilitation it’s not enough. It is agreed that long prison terms are vital for general stability. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the other hand, actually rehabilitation might influence on intruders in a positive way. Furthermore, a significant part of people believes that rehabilitation is the key to treating these people and preventing them from committing the same crimes when they get out of jail. For instance, in Switzerland, rehabilitation is widely practised instead of long prison terms. People who committed crimes due to mental disorders start treatment in a prison and then are transferred to special institutions where they continue treatment until complete recovery. This applies to drug addicts and people with various mental disorders. In general,quite reasonable practice. On the other hand, even after full recovery there is a high probability that people will commit the same crimes again and again. For instance, in the USA, criminals are more prisoned than rehabilitated. Furthermore, in the USA is the highest indicator of imprisonment in the world. As a lot of Americans believe that criminals always remain criminals. They reckon that offenders could imitate recovery in order to be freed more quicker. From my point of view, humans who managed to commit heavy crimes ones, will do it again. Also,it is proven by a lot of psychiatrists that you can’t be sure for 100 percent that a person is fully recovered and no longer suffer from the disorder. To summarise, actually rehabilitation it’s a not bad idea. But people will feel more safer themselves if long prisons term will be applied at the same time. Therefore, rehabilitation won’t replace imprisonment completely and authorities should be focused more on long terms rather than rehabilitation.