Some people have the opinion that big shopping malls are expensive places as they offer high costs for the products which can be bought at much cheaper prices from local shops. On the other hand, some people think that such malls are absolutely the best places to visit for shopping. Discuss both the opinions and give your own opinion.

Having a wide variety of options is one of the blessings of our modern day and age. Shopping is not about buying necessities anymore; it has become a lifestyle and leisure activity. Some members of society prefer shopping malls because they offer a wide range of choices while others think local markets and farmer shops are more affordable. In this essay, I will shed light on those views and give my opinion. In the 80s, the concept of shopping malls started to take the world by storm as they had multiple stores under one roof which offered different products. Some of these stores were high-street brands while others were high-end brands. Also, a mall offered a supermarket, food court and designated areas for children to play. To this day, Shopping centres are popular among urban residents as they are more convenient for weekly shopping trips. In Saudi Arabia, most people prefer going to commercial centres as they have air-conditioning which makes the shopping experience more enjoyable. On the other hand, for individuals who seek unique items or a more social shopping experience where they get to know the shop owner, the local market would be the choice for them. Moreover, in such markets, people get to bargain and have more flexible financial exchange. Since local stores usually do not have a middleman between them and the product maker, their prices are lower than big chains. In conclusion, both shopping experiences have different benefits to offer to people and the choice is theirs to make to fulfil their needs. A shopping experience can be tailored to suit the desires of an individual.