Governments should spend money on rails rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

During the past decade, we have noticed that the government is investing more funds towards rail infrastructure. Even though roads are also equally important as that rail, it has become a debatable topic now in the society we live in. I personally believe that roads are more prominent than rail when it comes to connecting one place to another. First of all, roads are treated as the lifeline of a nation. When we talk about a country's development, we look at the connectivity of one city to another corner. Let us take the example of Dubai. The region is extremely well connected with public transportation.People just have to board the bus and this will take them to the destination where they have to go. In addition to that, these utilities are also planned and designed in such a way that, they are having connections to the rail, for,example tram and high-speed trains. Second thing, roads serve as a carrier for passengers and freight. Let us take an example of a village where we have to take goods. This place is so remotely placed that rail cannot be approached. In such situations, we have to rely on transportation over land to reach remote areas. We agree with the fact that in populated nations like India, rail is more dependable. But at the same time, in many places community is suffocated due to the unavailability of a good public transportation system. In conclusion, individuals have started thinking and discussing the Government's stance on spending money more on rail rather than on the road as many of them are of the opinion that the road has to be given more importance than rail. I strongly agree that the road has to be developed by paying out funds for their construction or re-construction activities.