Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Children have become addicted to their phones recently. Several factors cause this phenomenon as well as its respective consequences. In this essay, I will discuss them and conclude with my perception. To begin with, smartphones are making people's lives more convenient and easy, not only adults but also kids can benefit from it. The young generation can do any kind of stuff with their phones, such as get supplements for school, play games, keep in touch with their friends, and so on. Nearly everything can be done in the virtual world now, except for going to the bathroom or having a meal. As a result, youngsters spend a huge amount of time in the virtual world. However, teens' eyes being glued to smartphones has detrimental impacts on many aspects. First of all, it will damage our health, since spending hours on electronic devices means one will be seated and watching the screen for a long time, which will harm our eyes and result in obesity. Moreover, due to the lack of communicating with others or seeing people face to face kids will be bad at interpersonal skills. Last, although children can learn knowledge from the internet, it is still vital for them to really go out and see the world because seeing the world and feeling the atmosphere can provoke different feelings and experiences in them. In conclusion, children spend too much time on their mobile phones every day, and I believe the demerits of this development outweigh its merits. As a consequence, I suggest parents should think twice before buying their offsprings phones.