in many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. what is the value of long school holidays? what are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays?

In the contemporary era, the education system has attracted a lot of attention. It is said that authorities prefer to close the primary and secondary schools for about two months, or during summer holidays. There are several benefits to being close during this period, and some people think about some drawbacks that might happen. I am going to elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, long school holidays provide opportunities for students to be more relaxed. Students have to study under a lot of pressure in a competitive atmosphere during school days. Hence, sometimes they need to be away from those pressures. Therefore, they can engage in different activities, like travelling with their family members or playing with their peers. This time can be so effective for enhancing their academic performance. Moreover, these periods can help them improve their concentration when they start their new term. When they play or travel, their brain potential will increase, and solving different problems at school will be so easier for them. As a result, they can reach the goals more quickly because their mind have become stable enough and refreshed. On the other hand, there are some people who are advocates of minimising this period. They think that if students are separated long-term from their lessons, they will forget what they have learned. Consequently, it will take much more time to recall them. Furthermore, long holidays might reduce their motivation, which leads to less academic performance. For example, children might become familiar with other aspects of their lives, like spending their time on social media or working with their parents. Then, they will not be interested enough in studying. As a consequence, their intention to study will decline a lot, and they cannot have a brilliant future. In conclusion, although school holidays are really essential for students to improve their mood and recharge. Paying attention to them during their holiday is more important. I recommend that parents register them in some extracurricular classes that mix recreational activities with some necessary lessons to keep students updated.