As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that businessmen aim to earn some money, while some people consider that they should take on corresponding responsibilities. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view and believe that companies ought to do more for society than simply make money. First of all, it is justified that companies make some money and thus they can survive in fierce competition and further extend their scale. Every company need to pay for daily consumption and workers' salary, as well as building refurbishments. Therefore, it seems logical that the priority of any company should be to cover its running costs. From an opposite angle, society is more likely to fall into chaos and workers find themselves standing on the unemployment line since the company cannot afford these payments. In other words, a company can only make a positive contribution to society if it is in a good financial state. However, companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximizing profit; they have a wider role to play in society. One social obligation that owners and managers have is to treat their employees well, rather than exploit them. For example, they could pay a 'living wage' to ensure that workers have a good quality of life. I also like the idea that businesses could utilize a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects or educational organizations. Finally, instead of trying to minimise their tax payments by using accounting loopholes, I believe that company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system. In conclusion, I believe that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.