Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Several leaders of countries in the 21st century try to advance their economies for better lifestyles. However, others argue that there are some worrying outcomes related to the loss of essential values. In my opinion, the benefits of economic development outweigh the drawbacks, but economic growth has to be carefully balanced with the maintenance of social values. There are several undeniable advantages to flourishing economic conditions. Firstly, it creates more job opportunities, leading to a reduction in poverty and an increase in the occupation rate. For example, a study conducted by the European Parliament Research Service in 2024 showed that in all EU member states the employment rate rose by 2.5% in the last two years. Moreover, economic growth improves the competitiveness of industries, which are able to pay more taxes. As a consequence, governments receive more revenues and that means that more public services such as healthcare, education and infrastructure development may be provided. On the other hand, excessive focus on economic improvement may be detrimental to social values. In the race of rapid growth, people could lose values as cooperation and equality. Moreover, countries often no longer care about their traditions and cultural heritage to push the development. For example, the rise of consumerism and material wealth in fashion cities, such as Milan and Paris, often leads to the erosion of cultural practices and traditions as people value material possessions over cultural preservation. Additionally, the focus on personal success often overshadow the importance of social relationships. These behaviors result in a lack of interest in the condition of undeveloped countries, exacerbating social divisions. In conclusion, although economic development is undoubtedly advantageous, it is crucial to balance it with the recognition of the importance of social values, because their loss may have dangerous impacts.