In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some countries, it’s argued that the government should spend a lot of money on building high-speed railways to facilitate transportation between cities while others claim that it would be more beneficial if the money was spent on improvement in existing public transport. while high-speed railways can boost the economy in cities, I believe that improving existing public transport is more important to the enhancement of people ’s quality of life. On the one hand, constructing more new railway lines can reduce the time people travel to other cities and provide a more convenient way for tourists. To be specific, people are more willing to travel, leading to increased consumption in the tourist destination, the development of tourism and the growth of the local economy. For example, there are few people who choose to travel to Shantou due to the poor access to transportation. However, since the development of high-speed railways, it only takes 2 or 3 hours for inhabitants of cities in the same province to arrive at Shantou. Since then, more and more people have gone to Shantou on their holiday, and there has been a great growth in economy. On the other hand, improvement in existing public transport is more beneficial for citizens as commuters are struggling with the traffic congestion during the rush hour and the poor air conditions. That is to say, investment in buses and trains, which would mean fewer people need to travel by car, will ease the traffic jams. Besides, a well-designed transport system that promotes the use of clean energy is more eco-friendly and thus improves the air quality of a city. For example, Beijing, a big city in China, was facing smog which came from incomplete combustion of vehicles. After an enhancement of public transportation and the promotion of environmentally friendly initiatives, the problem has been greatly alleviated and the living standard of citizens has been lifted. In conclusion, while the reasons why people think more money should be spent on high-speed railways are understandable, I believe the government should pay more attention to the existing public transport.