New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, kids can benefit from a wide variety of technological tools, and due to this fact, the way how they spend their spare time has dramatically changed. In this essay, I will examine the advantages and the disadvantages of how new technologies have impacted children's lives. I will also provide some examples. To begin with, the technological revolution during the last two decades has inevitably involved the young population and it brought some advantages. Firstly, they have the opportunity to gain knowledge and play at the same time, and this is thanks to new digital items, indeed this boosted their neurological connections. For example, there are many online games like Duolingo or Guess the word, that has been created with the purpose of giving a funny experience to the kid, but also teaching him something new. Secondly, by having full access to the Internet, children can open their browsers and search for whatever they want. Navigating online, give them the opportunity to know a lot of stuff, read the news and learn new information. As an example, my youngest sister is 8 years old and has more general knowledge than me when I was his age, just by searching for new information online daily. On the other hand, childhood experts reported one main disadvantage to the fact that kids are surrounded by technology. Today children spend drastically less time doing outdoor activities, like sports, or playing in their garden with friends than in the past. Data say that 20 years ago, kids used to spend at least 2 hours daily on the open hair, whilst today this rate decreased only to 30 minutes. By spending less time outside and playing with video games, experts noticed bad consequences among the young population. For instance, they are less creative, and they practice fewer sports. Furthermore, this can lead more frequently to depression. To conclude, despite new technologies bringing more opportunities in terms of gaining new knowledge for kids, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and this is due to the fact that new generations spend less time with friends doing outdoor activities and are less creative.