In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

There have been growing concerns about the range of educational subjects that students are required. Some people may have suggested that students should focus on specific subjects to prepare for their future careers. This will be helpful to students, however, personally I believe secondary schools should encourage students to learn a variety of subjects. Firstly, a general education across various subjects will be beneficial to students. Just imagine that the academic subjects that are related to a particular career such as math and science, forcing students to concentrate on memorising the complex formulas and scientific concepts. What I am concerned about is that students may lose their interest in studying, thereby having narrow perspectives on those subjects which only demand a studious atmosphere. However, if students are provided non-academic classes such as art and music in general education, they might be able to broaden their perspectives and allow them to figure out various occupations. Consequently, I believe that having diverse classes in schools contributes to not only discovering talent but also expanding the path of their future career. Nevertheless, studying career -related subjects can assist students in focusing immensely on their specific subjects. In Korea, for instance, getting high performance in English is crucial for entering University as well as when getting a job. Hence, it is beneficial for students to spend most of their time preparing for English tests, which demand high standard levels rather than other subjects. Moreover, students can reduce stress by avoiding classes that they are not interested in. For example, if some classes like music or sports are mandatory in school, students who are not good at those classes will be overwhelmed and feel frustrated. In conclusion, although focusing on a narrow range of subjects related to a career can reduce strains on students, I believe that experiencing various subjects is essential because it provides a lot of different perspectives, which will contribute to enhance the career path in the long run. We should encourage students to find out their talent by giving them various opportunities.