In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some companies stress the creativity or advancement of their products in their advertising campaigns. While I do not believe that is positive progress, even though the reason for this is clear. From my perspective, the main reason for headlining the new features of a product is that the majority of customers are prone to be attracted by new things and companies can make a high profit by selling more goods for this season. For example, many people are so crazy about the new generation of any product made by the famous manufacturer Apple. They prefer to spend a long time in front of the off-line stores operated by Apple just waiting to get a new phone in the first place. From this scene, it is clear that communicating with customers about how new the product is could help advertisers sell more products. However, I think it may be wrong to exaggerate the new features of a product in advertising, because it may cause a series of social and environmental problems. First, this phenomenon may increase serious consumerism. To follow the new trends, people will buy more than they need due to the effect of advertising. It could be a burden for people from disadvantaged backgrounds. Second, our environment will be damaged because of the heavy waste. For example, lots of people prefer to change their phones yearly, even their older ones can satisfy their daily needs. This situation can lead to a mass of electronic waste which can pose a threat to our environment. To sum up, it is not responsible for companies to emphasise their new products all the time, while it helps them make more profits from this.