Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is a very common ingredient in many manufactured foods and drinks, which consequently is not very healthy to be consumed for a long period. Therefore, it is argued that sugar products should be made more expensive to limit people's consumption. I completely agree with the statement for some reasons. To begin with, sugar would be tastier, which implements enthusiasm among daily consumers. Even though sugary foods are less nourishing, they are more flavorful. However, they can impact not only physical health conditions but also mental. For example, most people tend to choose artificial drinks instead of fresh juices when they feel tired. This behaviour will affect their well-being, such as obesity and other serious health problems. Addiction to unhealthy foods would be one of the main challenges which involve populations who consume sugar constantly. For instance, studies have shown that there is a direct link between chewing gums and mental addiction. Therefore, the government should take measures to increase the price of sugary products through tax. If the price increases significantly, citizens will find it difficult to purchase these products. Thus, people will be encouraged to buy cheaper food that is healthier. Secondly, increasing the cost of food with sugar is an excellent measure to prevent people from buying sugary products, making them look for alternatives. An example that is related to promoting health by raising prices is tobacco. In Spain, the cost of tobacco increased in order to avoid excessive consumption compared to previous years. Besides, this caused many people to stop smoking and consider ways to quit. In conclusion, I totally believe that the price must be extremely high by taxation so that the residents will eventually purchase healthier products.