The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantages of convenience food?

In the present day, convenience food has become a popular option in daily life as individuals can quickly have a meal within a short time. This essay will examine the probable positive and negative effects of having processed food. On the one hand, there are some advantages of convenience food consumption. Firstly, this type of food is almost ready to eat which requires a short time for preparation with less equipment. For example, the process of preparing instant noodles is to add boiled water and wait for 3 minutes. Compared with actual noodle preparation, it might take more than 3 hours for only soup preparation. This could help people to save time for meals during rush hour. Another benefit of processed food is its portable and long shelf life. It is an important food that every household should preserve when unexpected situations come such as natural disasters, wars and political protests. Also, it is portable which is suitable for camping or long-ride trips. Lastly, it is easily accessible food that can be grabbed via a convenience store or supermarket at an affordable price compared with fresh ingredients. On the other hand, while there is a range of benefits to having instant food, it is not without its drawbacks. To begin with, the majority of ready-to-eat food has low nutrition as it generally contains a lot of sodium and fat which is unhealthy if people eat it on a regular basis. Furthermore, some kinds of convenience food typically use artificial preservatives or chemical preservatives which can have possible harmful effects on people's bodies in the long term if continuously consumed for a long time. Lastly, some preserved food ’s taste is worse than newly cooked dishes with fresh ingredients. As convenience food needs to pass the preservation process such as adding chemicals, being dried or being frozen, the taste might be changed from the original style. To summarise, convenience food apparently yields some benefits such as saving time and long shelf life. However, it is undeniable that there are also certain drawbacks, including having low nutrition and being unhealthy in case of having them too as a regular meal.