Population in cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects of this? What solutions can you suggest to maintain a high quality of life in urban areas?

The city population has been on the rise in many parts of the world. There are serious problems that stem from this development, including rising costs of accommodation and increased burden on infrastructure. To ensure living standards in cities remain high, therefore, the government needs to regulate housing prices in addition to making major investments in rural areas to slow down rural-to-urban migration.  One of the main consequences of the rapid growth of population in urban areas is the ever-increasing cost of accommodation. As more and more people settle in cities, the demand for housing skyrockets, and so do the prices. This effect can be observed in almost all metropolises around the world, such as London and Tokyo, where the average cost of residential buildings is so high that most middle-income families are priced out of the housing market.  Another negative outcome is that the growing urban population puts excessive strain on city infrastructure. This includes overcrowding of public facilities—schools, hospitals, and public transport—that are unable to meet the rising demand. Meanwhile, it will also be hard to provide a constant supply of gas, electricity, and other essential services, which could lead to the collapse of the whole system if new residents keep coming to cities.   To counter these effects, first and foremost, the government must invest in the development of rural areas. This entails improving public services in those areas and providing better employment opportunities, which are the main drivers of urban migration. If the standard of living there can be improved, fewer people would migrate to cities, easing off the burden on city infrastructure while also ensuring equal distribution of talent. Along with addressing the root cause of the problem, the government should also regulate the cost of living in cities. Affordable housing needs to be created for lower-income households to ensure a high standard of living. For example, in my country, Uzbekistan, the renting expenses of students coming from outside the city are partially covered using public funds, a great initiative that helps to maintain a decent quality of life for newcomers. In conclusion, the foremost effects of the growing city population are the rise in housing costs and overburdened infrastructure. The solution to these problems lies with the government, and it involves raising standards of living in rural areas as well as providing assistance with accommodation in cities.