Some people believe social media is very important in our daily life, other believe it is waste of time. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

In the last decades the way people communicate with each other has experienced a notorious revolution, and social media is the responsible for this significant transformation. This method of communication has its supporters and detractors: the first group argues that social media plays a capital role in our lives, but the second supports the idea that it is just a loss of time. I believe that both points of view can be right to a certain extent, as I will evaluate in the present essay. On the one hand, nobody can deny the fact that social media has become an essential part of our society. People might not probably imagine their lives without social media applications, such as WhatsApp, Instagram, Twitter or LinkedIn, anymore. Moreover, we use them for a wide range of activities, in particular communication, leisure purposes, express our opinions, build relationships both in private and professional context, etc. To illustrate the impact of social media in our lives, we can think about wheter the public could stop using instant messaging applications such as WhatsApp; in my opinion this is highly unlikely to happen. On the other hand, it is undeniable that these applications are designed not only to respond people's necessities but also to catch our attention as much as possible. Therefore, if individuals are not able to control the usage of these applications, they can fall into their trap and spend an excessive amount of time while using them. For example, many people check their messages or social media when they are with their friends, instead of enjoying the time with them. Likewise, some social applications, namely TikTok or Instagram, are well-know for absorbing plenty of time of their users, as they have an addictive impact on them. In conclusion, I agree with both statements: social media is a cornerstone in today's society and it also can be a loss of time on certain occasions if it is not used adequately. I believe the best solution would be to learn how to live with this tool and learn how to use it in a correct manner.