In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

In previous years, tourists travelled to foreign countries to meet differences between people around the world. Presently, there is a cultural mix, and cities have become more similar. The main reason why it occurred is a globalisation process. However, it's not beneficial and results in a loss of cultural independency. On the one hand, globalisation makes the transfer of people and products around the world easily accessible. The phenomenon of migration and international trade contributed to multiculturalism and the gathering of foreign communities in different cities. Moreover, there are present popularised trends from Western countries inside Eastern and in opposition. For example, famous cuisines are commonly available in almost every place in the world, like Chinese food in the middle of Europe. On the other hand, global integration brings loss of national heritage. The traditions and habits unique to one country are becoming common because of the spread of cultures. As a result, travelling is less satisfying. People find enclaves of immigrants in distanced locations from their motherland. The most important value of travelling, knowledge about cultures and nations, can be accessed inside the country. For example, in some large cities, there are selected districts of foreign societies, such as Chinatown in London. In conclusion, cities around the world have more common features than it was in the past. Although the globalisation process has brung cultures to almost all places from their origin, in my opinion, it's a negative phenomenon. Consequently, it has resulted in the loss of traditions and national independence.