Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that adolescent-age children should be encouraged to do unpaid volunteering in their spare time. On the contrary, others believe that doing it for free can be prodigal for them. In this essay, I would present that community work can help teenagers to boost their careers and aid society to have a sustainable environment. Opponents of free community service by teenage children advocate that it can leave a dip in the children's pockets if they are bearing all their expenses with the small amount of pocket money which they get monthly. For example, many unpaid volunteers use their own money during their work to provide instant help to those who are in need. However, I would argue that this can be overcome by doing a part-time job apart from social welfare services. This would help them to earn some money, as well as, acquire time management skills. Further, I would argue that volunteering helps adolescents to learn how to work in groups. This would help them to grow professionally when they start working in the corporate world. For instance, they will learn how to perform in a group with people of different opinions and cultural backgrounds. The more they volunteer, the more it will groom their personality and career. Additionally, they can assist in environmental sustainability by spreading awareness among people about the depletion of natural resources and developing a sense of responsibility for saving them. This could help people to learn, how to utilize the resources judiciously and save them for future generations. Hence, social work can educate society on how to mitigate further environmental degradation. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that unpaid community service can be financially non-profitable for teenagers, I would argue that it can be beneficial in their career growth and can help society in conserving natural resources.