Some people claim that newspaper is the best way to get latest information because it has more influence than other forms of media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the newspaper is the best way to acquire the latest news or not is now up for debate. However, I totally disagree with it and I will provide my perceptions in this essay. To begin with, it is undeniable that the newspaper was the major and the most popular way to access information in the past; however, due to technological advanced, people nowadays can choose multiple media to consume news, such as social media, podcasts, and so on. In my opinion, social media is overcoming newspapers, due to its promptness, since it is much faster and easier for a piece of news to go viral on the internet than in newspapers. For example, I remember once there was a car accident near my apartment, I saw that news directly the time it happened on social media, but it was in the newspaper two days later. In addition, newspapers can only provide limited information whereas the internet can give tons of different sources. For instance, some newspapers only provide news in a certain region, while people can get any kind of news they want on the net. As a result, readers can obtain a larger amount of knowledge, for example, some might be interested in international news, thus the media allow them to broaden their horizons. Furthermore, the media can reach out to more populations, which can be useful when natural disasters occur. In conclusion, although some argue that the traditional newspaper is the prime way to get information, I disagree with it. Since the media provide people with a much faster and wider range of news, I believe it has outweighed the newspaper.