Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to destroyed habitats and food shortages, the number of certain animals has significantly decreased. Some people think that allocating some budgets and substances to these wild animals is a waste of resources. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea because animals are an indispensable part of nature and the ecosystem. Sometimes, we have to recognize that saving endangered animals needs huge expenditure. From the individual's perspective, governments always appeal to residents to be voluntary for assisting rescue workers and spend several hours per week working in a zoo and relevant organizations, which absolutely increases people's pressure. From the social aspect, governments attempt to establish more animal hospitals and stations in order to protect wild animals, particularly endangered ones such as pandas and tigers. There is no doubt that these facilities require investments and would be harmful to local taxes. However, regardless of these arguments, I consider that we should protect them and take responsibility for nature and the ecosystem. First of all, we should be aware that human is not the host of the earth, while animals, plants and other species share the living space on the earth as well. If some animals die, people are more likely to suffer from the issues of food shortage, worsen environments and limited energy sources. Besides, people's behaviours like cutting down forests and overfishing make some animals stand in the endangered line. And, people should be responsible for this. Finally, assisting endangered animals is beneficial to set up a stable ecosystem, which mitigates the negative impacts of human activities on nature. As reported in previous literature, the more species the natural system has, the more stable it is. In conclusion, people should pay more attention to the advantages we can get from protecting endangered animals instead of what we would pay for this.