Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that travelling and working abroad are the main purposes for learning a foreign language, while others argue that there are other reasons for this. In my opinion, studying another language besides the mother tongue to serve for communicating when going or working in a foreign nation is why people should learn foreign languages. On the one hand, many say that there are many reasons for learning a non-native language, not only for travelling or working abroad. People learn an unfamiliar language maybe because it is a needed condition for their job if they have to work with foreign partners, particularly in the globalization era. For example, many export companies in Vietnam require their employees to know a second language, such as Chinese, Japanese or English, in order to understand and communicate effectively with their foreign customers and counterparts to increase the selling possibility. However, the advent of translation tools can help them with this. Thus, this makes it hard to support. On the other hand, learning a foreign language is the only purpose for travelling or working oversea. Learning a second language will bring a communication advantage to people who live abroad to study and work better without being confined by a barrier language. For instance, many Asian students study English and try to have a language certification which is not only to help them can understand what foreign local people say but also to meet the standard of Western universities. In conclusion, although there have many reasons to learn a foreign language, I strongly believe that the development of global tourism and the desirability to have a job in a foreign country drive people to learn non-native languages.