The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, there is an increasing number of employees who work remotely from home and this trend is growing in popularity. Although, there are some minor implications related to home-based work environment, the advantages definitely outnumbers its demerits. To begin with, a vast majority of big enterprises tend to recognise the benefits of online working on the productivity and general satisfaction of their employees, therefore they tend to be flexible in their approach to offer their employees the option of hybrid working from the comfort of the home. Undoubtedly, the main advantage of online working is the convenience which results from the fact that employees do not need to waste time on daily commute which is cost-effective and could be spent on more productive activities. For example, workers who have family, can allocate the time saved on daily commute on quality time which they could spend with their beloved ones. Moreover, since workers do not need to use their personal vehicles, this contributes to reduced traffic congestion in the city and improved air quality since reduced amount of toxic fuel fumes. On the other side, despite detrimental benefits which can help improve the general employee satisfaction and the air pollution as well, online working might have some minor implications. Although, single workers might not see a dramatic difference between office and online working, then employees who need to balance between their professional career and childcare might find it extremely challenging and hence might prefer working from office as a way to escape from daily family stress. To summarize, although employees might have their own preferences regarding their working environment, the significant advantages seen in the examples of saved time and environmental benefits, definitely outnumbers its minor drawbacks.