Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

There is always disputation about whether animals should be kept in zoos. In fact, zoos play an important role in wildlife conservation and biological education. However, they are unethical in some aspects. On the one hand, it is undeniable zoos are useful in some regards. There are some endangered species which should be kept in artificial environments like zoos in order to avoid threats such as poaching, habitat destruction and the spread of urbanization. For example, pandas need to be in captivity to survive due to food shortages and hunting. Moreover, zoos are educational. They allow scientists to study animals and their behaviour. Also, children, in particular, enjoy learning about animals by observing them closely and even having physical contact by petting some of them. On the other hand, it is morally wrong to keep animals in cages for entertainment and profit. First, being kept in a limited space, animals lose the freedom and instinct to hunt for food. Therefore, they become reliant on humans and lose the ability to survive in the wild environment. Second, zoos exhibit animals with the aim of making money which can cause them to become stressed because of being exposed to many people. More importantly, animals are being mistreated in some zoos. They do not receive an adequate amount of food and medical care, which has caused many animals in zoos to die due to starvation and diseases. In conclusion, while zoos can be a place to protect certain endangered species, it is ethically argued how animals are treated.