Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that the main purpose for learning a foreign language is to travel or work oversea, while others think that there still have many reasons for this. In my opinion, becoming bilingual or multilingual to serve for working and discovering other cultures in the world should be taken as the main reason. There are several answers to the question of why people study a foreign language, such as for gaining knowledge about other civilizations by reading information sources written in foreign languages. By knowing a second or a third language, learners can foster their minds and gradually have holistic views through a lens of science by understanding a variety of rudiments. For example, when I did research about Korean culture, on account of knowing Korean fully, I learnt many about how their ancestors organized ritual events by reading books written in Korean. Thus, people, particularly students, can take advantage of learning a foreign language for their studies. However, I believe that the main purpose for a person to become bilingual can be ascribed to travelling and working abroad. Globalization provides people opportunities to apply for a job in another country with a higher salary which requires an ability to communicate fluently in a non-native language. This means that learning a new language can help employees adapt to foreign working environments easily and have chances to make progress and develop their careers. For instance, many Asian students learn English to attend Western universities for a better education system that gives them opportunities to have positions in international companies. Thence, travelling and working abroad have gradually become a desirability of people that drives them to study to be multilingual. In conclusion, although many argue that there are different reasons to learn a non-native language, I strongly believe that foreign languages are learnt to serve humans overseas work.