In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, Organizations have switched from in-person meetings to virtual resorts of interactions. This transition has resulted in better life quality for employees. The advantages have been highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, utilizing virtual ways of communication provides higher flexibility to individuals, enabling them to work at their convenience. This not only promotes a healthy work-life balance but also improves the overall functioning of the business. Additionally, conducting the meetings virtually has resulted in cost savings as well as a reduction in commuting hours for the employees. For instance, in a survey that has been conducted by International Labour Organization, 65 per cent of respondents agreed that in a conventional set-up, arranging a meeting requires a lot of effort for making space reservations, facilitating refreshments and so on for the attendees which can be drastically reduced in virtual meetups. Furthermore, with the availability of applications such as Zoom, and Teams, communication time has significantly declined as employees can reach out to their peers and seniors at a fast pace. To exemplify, Recently, when the entire globe was dealing with the pandemic almost 60 per cent of companies relied on tech-savvy solutions so that their business operations are not hampered leading to ill repercussions. Lastly, such measurements have resulted in a positive trend wherein executives can focus on the quality of work and issues can be resolved steadily. To summarize, Although the shift to online connects rather than face-to-face conversations is proving to be more than a fad and resulting in beneficial outcomes yet individuals should remain diligent and work ethically towards achieving their goals and becoming assets for their employers.