University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, university graduates are going to foreign countries in greater proportion to pursue postgraduate degrees like M.Sc. or PhD. In my opinion, I think that such a tendency has several beneficial aspects compared to any demerits it might bring. This essay will portray the reasons behind my aforementioned statement. Admittedly, a number of university students favour studying abroad because they believe that they’ll be able to learn deeply and more precisely in their preferable fields as their native countries don’t have enough resources or lab facilities or competent teaching staff to teach properly and fulfil their desire. By obtaining higher degrees in due time and then returning back to their own countries, they’ll be able to contribute pretty effectively to the prosperity of their beloved nations. In addition, studying abroad and achieving prestigious degrees also benefit the progress of their demanding careers. For example, a university lecturer will be promoted to higher positions after obtaining a PhD degree from the USA or Europe and be able to teach his/her students quite efficiently. Despite the advantages mentioned above, studying abroad has also some drawbacks both for the students and their native nations concerned. To commence with, getting out of the known atmosphere can cause mental trauma and anxiety for the students with regard to their accommodation, food and daily household chores. Moreover, few students get involved with myriads of activities rather than studying in foreign countries like part-time jobs or solo travelling. As a result, they can’t complete their degree in due time and pose financial problems for themselves as well as their families. Furthermore, some students also decide absurdly not to go back to their own countries which cause brain-drain ” that tends to hit the concerned nation pretty negatively as the governments have spent greatly to educate such ungrateful students prior to going abroad. To recapitulate, despite the negative developments behind the tendency of university students to study abroad, I think that such a tendency should be welcomed due to the betterment of themselves as well as their own countries which greatly outweigh the disadvantages stated earlier.