Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don't know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past.

Throughout history, humans have been interested in helping each other and it is highly controversial whether people are doing more philanthropic actions today compared to the past or not. I disagree with the idea of considering modern people as greedy or something like that who is not eager to give the unfamiliar. First, nowadays people can more easily show off their wealth and how generous they are, so they are more likely to donate. According to many psychological studies, the more reward we gain from an action we receive, the more likely we are to repeat that action. Thanks to social media, it is really easy to share what you have done, and "liking buttons" act as fast rewards. For instance, my aunt is a kind woman who usually helps the poor, but after sharing her measures on Instagram, and seeing how people react, she was really encouraged to do more charity and share more. I am sure most of us had such experiences. She can freely ask other people, using this platform, to be involved in her generous projects and they all help the individuals they may not see even in the future. Second, many governments give tax exemptions for charitable acts which in turn act as an incentive. Saving money by giving money seems fascinating to many people including me. Last year, I was looking for a way to help the students with financial needs at Washington University. I did it just to have a good feeling of being a useful human being, but after seeing my tax bill at the end of the year, I got surprised, as my lawyer could claim a tax exemption for this measure. This year, we planned to increase our support because we consider it a win-win situation. For the government, by having more active civilians, and absolutely me by feeling good about myself from helping the people I do not know but I love and receiving rewards from governments at the same time. To summarize, I am positive there are promising statistics about the number of people who enthusiastically engage in humanitarian actions and I think in near future there will be even more people willing to do so.