Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the period of globalization, there has been a suggestion about the inclusion of foreign language in the primary schools’ curriculum by experts. It seems that, this change might contribute to positive impacts on pupils such as fluency in another language and a chance to promote admissions for future purposes. Although there are some concerns about timetables and a mixture of languages, I absolutely believe that the inclusion of languages in primary schools is preferable rather than in secondary schools. To begin, one of the profound benefits might be the ability to speak fluently. The sooner students begin learning languages, the easier it will be to communicate with others. Studies have shown it will allow them to achieve a high level of language proficiency, thus making them better equipped to navigate in the competitive world. To illustrate, inhabitants of the Netherlands, especially the youth are considered to be one of the nations who speak English fluently, showing off about 93% of the level of fluency. It is believed that they are engaged in languages since childhood; taught in primary schools and they can be offered for workplaces worldwide due to mastering international languages. In addition, foreign languages might assist in exploring and greater understanding of other nations. Nowadays, it is common to learn English as it may provide career prospects and other aspects. Turning to drawbacks, there is a chance of a mixture of languages during communication which may lead to issues of thinking abilities. If people know a number of languages, they might mix them and mislead other people. Furthermore, individuals might forget their culture by speaking in a second language since it can become easier to speak rather than in their native which leads to a loss of national identity. For instance, it is a huge problem among Kazakh people because once they were colonised under the Soviet Union and pushed by the government to speak in Russian language, which is foreign. In conclusion, it is better to start studying a second language at an early age as it may provide future prospects, starting from travelling to a career.