Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is believed by some that the government's budget is being allocated too much to the arts and that amount of money could be spent on other categories. I personally believe that the government should invest both in the arts and other aspects of society. On the one hand, it can be seen that there are lots of fields that need investment. To begin with, the authorities can opt for spending money helping the disadvantaged. The number of homeless is increasing and they might be the ones who need money in order to purchase food or rent a small room to live in. By receiving money from the local government, these people might have a favourable opportunity to improve their living standards. Moreover, the environment can be protected and well-preserved with investment from the authorities. Using money from the government to launch campaigns in order to raise citizens’ awareness is one of the most effective methods to keep the environment clean. Besides, investing money in producing eco-friendly materials may be beneficial in preserving the environment. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the government should also divert funds to the arts. Firstly, money can be spent in order to preserve valuable artworks. Lots of art pieces such as paintings or statues bear precious historical and cultural values and, therefore, need to be preserved. For instance, the French government has to use part of its money to hire securities in order to protect the Monalisa, the famous painting of Leonardo Da Vinci. Secondly, the government could invest money in art education for children. This is mainly because arts play a crucial role in the mental development of young children. As a result, spending money on art education for the younger generation is investing in their comprehensive development. In conclusion, whilst many believe that money should be spent on other categories instead of the arts, it is my firm belief that the authorities should invest in both aspects.