Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The popularity of online courses has increased in recent years, thanks to the development of technology. Despite its popularity, some people think that it will never replace offline teaching practice. I agree because online learning lacks emotional relationships and learning clarity. To begin with, online teaching eliminates the physical connection between teachers and students, which is very important in leadership development. Students who have intense interactions tend to perform better, either academically or non-academically, because they build communication skills while learning something. Offline teaching provides this and shapes others' soft skills. In contrast, online courses do not have this direct communication, thus, the interaction between teachers and students is limited. This could lead to a more reserved and quiet student, which is not good for future development. Furthermore, with its limitation on teaching media, online class lacks clarity, especially in a course that needs to have a demo (e.g, biology). Learning via videoconference only provides a video or presentation without showing a real physical model to students. This is quite hard to be absorbed for some students and could lead to bad understanding. For instance, a recent doctor who graduated in the Covid era yields a bad score, compared to doctors who graduated before the pandemic. This reflects that there is a lower understanding when courses are being delivered online than offline. To summarize, I believe that online courses could never be as good as offline teaching because it lacks physical connection which is important for leadership development. Moreover, it is also not clear enough for some students.