Some people think that young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should be encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc.to serve society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Experts throughout the developed and developing world have debated whether youngsters should be encouraged to receive university training or start to work. This essay will discuss both sides before deducting my personal opinion, using examples from The US government and the UN to demonstrate arguments. On the one hand, There is ample evidence that the young generation should pursue their studies at universities. The reason behind this is that most occupations that can provide high-standard salaries, including engineers, doctors and lawyers, require academic qualifications from tertiary education. For example, recent research from the UN shows that the income of bankers and investors in developed countries is considerably higher than other practices, and over 85% of them have attained master's degrees in economics and other related majors. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that specialised studies from universities could form the basis of young adults doing high-income jobs and making a decent living. On the other hand. it is also reasonable to encourage youngsters to start working in some practical occupations instead of learning at university for several reasons. Firstly, jobs such as barbers, builders and porters mainly rely on frequent practice and long-term hands-on experience but not academic knowledge. For instance, an extensive study from the US government indicates that it usually takes over 8-year work experience to become a skilled mechanic. Thus, If young people could embark on such occupations earlier, they would be able to accumulate more experience regarding their professions, mastering their job skills at a young age and in turn, better serving society. Secondly, working rather than learning at universities, gives students from less well-off backgrounds a chance to earn salaries earlier. In this way, not only can they avoid getting into debt owing to exorbitant tuition fees, but also pay taxes to support the development of society. In conclusion, From the arguments and examples given, although it is true that tertiary education is needed for attaining better job offers, working practical jobs allow young adults to acquire experience and earn money earlier. In my mind, it should be a personal choice. Different individuals can make their own decisions based on Indicators including their learning abilities, personal preferences and backgrounds.