With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the requests for oil and gas are significantly increasing, which means the untouched parts of the world should be explored to gain additional resources. However, I firmly disagree, as excessive exploitation can lead to harm, and therefore, humans should start to shift to renewable energy. Oil and gas are categorised as unrenewable sources of energy, which simultaneously need exploration and exploitation. However, in view of the fact that the whole process tends to create pollution and endanger the ecosystem, significant environmental drawbacks emerge. As a real-life example, the oil rigs, which are located in the middle of the sea, often spill oil into the sea, leading to a decrease in water quality and a ruined ecosystem of sea creatures. As a consequence, instead of searching for new locations for oil and gas, human beings should increase the use of alternative sources, for instance, sunlight, wind, and water. These types of energy are renewable energy, which means that they are always available and can be recycled. By using these resources, the original condition of nature can be maintained, and pollution can be lessened. For example, the use of sunlight only requires solar panels, and people do not need to cut down the forests to search for gas. Thus, the earth and animal's habitat can be protected. In conclusion, although the demand for oil and gas has increased, the concealed areas should remain that way because the exploration process can damage the nature of the earth, and people must consider the use of other sources of energy. Hence, I remain to disagree with the idea of opening new areas to search for unknown origins of oil and gas.