In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays the age of death has increased in many countries, and this situation has made the population older and caused some arguments for, and against this ageing society. Some argue that this is a beneficial matter for the community, while others believe that this may cause some difficulties for the government. This essay will analyze both views as well as my own reasons for the outweigh of negative aspects. To begin with, some individuals consider this situation an opportunity to use the elderly people’s experiences more than before. To clarify this, a professor in a university, who taught and educated so many students, can continue teaching more of these science pursuers. Although they can use the books written by them, face-to-face experience is not comparable to just reading words and following instructions. On the other hand, others assume that the increase in the age average could lead to two main issues for the government. Firstly, this may cause a rise in population, thus the facilities and infrastructures will be limited for citizens. Secondly, by raising the age average, an increase in the retirement age would be required, consequently, the job situations will be limited, and youngsters might have difficulties finding a career. In addition, I believe that the benefits are not worth all the trouble that this matter causes. In conclusion, although there are some convincing reasons which could make the rise of the population of older people advantageous, this causes some significant problems for both the government and society which makes this situation more disadvantageous.