Today food travels thousands of miles from the fram to the consumers. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, we no longer completely rely on locally grown food as we can purchase food grown in distant regions. In this essay, I will discuss the factors that cause this phenomenon as well as its respective consequences and conclude with my point of view. There are several different reasons for it. We now live in a global village, and with technological advanced, we can transport food in multiple ways. Moreover, in the past people rely on local crops; however, nowadays, due to the high density of populations in metropolitan, it is hard for large cities to provide enough food locally for their residents. As a result, it transformed how the agricultural industry functioned. For example, urban area, such as Taipei, does not have extra space to grow crops and thus rely on other countries' products. In addition, food travels a long distance to meet customers' demand for out-of-season food. For instance, nations in the northern part might have no food production in the winter, so they must have imported food. However, this phenomenon poses detrimental impacts on the environment since it contributes a colossal amount of waste. First of all, food travel from long distances, whether by plane or ship, will use fossil fuels which will cause energy waste. Moreover, using fossil fuels will emit carbon dioxide and thus heat the earth. In addition, shipping products means they have to be fully packaged to keep the merchandise fresh, thus this will cause waste in plastic, which is already harming animals. In conclusion, without a doubt food now can travel far distances and people rely on it; however, I believe we must try to reduce buying food from different countries and purchase local products to form a more sustainable globe.