Children over 15 should be allowed to make decisions about their lives without the interference of their parents or teachers. Society should accept that children mature at a younger age these days and should adjust the law accordingly. Do you agree or disagree?

Todays’ children look more mature than the ones in previous decades. Some people argue that adolescents who are aged fifteen and above are considered adults and can take responsibilities for their actions and emotions and make their decisions by theirselves. Therefore, community should acknowledge it and change the rules in terms of accepting them as fully grown persons. In my view, while they are more grown and aware in comparison to old generations because of technological improvement, they should be still regard as an inexperienced and immature group who need guidance from their families. Therefore, they should undergo the same regulations apply to children and law makers should not change their positions toward them in society. This essay will provide reasons as apposes to the above statement. The first and foremost reason is the lack of experience in different aspects of life. To elaborate, while they may think as adults and will be able to make decisions, they do not have many experience facing and dealing with some situations in their lives. Therefore, advising and counselling are required to make a choice. For example, at high schools, parents and teachers are the best sources that help teenagers to opt their future academic majors wisely based on adolescents ‘s interests and skills and the knowledge they have from them. The second obvious reason is that the youngsters usually act emotionally and impulsive. To explain more, they do not have enough control on their emotions which may result in some adverse effects on their ability of decision making. For instance, as it is seen widely in driving, they may act in a moment without thinking about the consequences. They may be encouraged by their classmates to drive hazardous only to gain attentions or prove a point. To summarize, whereas present ‘s adolescents are fully developed in terms of intellectual and cognitive skills, their social and emotional skill sets are not completely developed and matured. Accordingly, it is rational that receive some advice and guidance from older adults in their lives.