Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The population that no longer completely relies on original doctors and instead trying to find new alternatives to tackle their health conditions is becoming increasingly popular recently. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this phenomenon and conclude with my perception. To begin with, people seeking different methods to deal with their body or mental health represents that more and more people are aware of their health. Therefore, pursuing a healthy and balanced life has become the mainstream of society. As a result, individuals tend to be involved in fitness, meditation, or yoga, which are all positive for our health. For example, if a person does yoga and meditation every day, it can not only keep her fit but also allow her to have a clear state of mind. Furthermore, this might boost her confidence and productivity. With more and more people that are productive and have a proactive attitude toward life, society can gain a positive impact from it. In a long run, it will form a more healthy and progressive community. However, if individuals seek harmful treatments, then it will pose a detrimental effect. For example, people who suffer from insomnia or depression might result to relying on drugs or alcohol to ease their tension rather than going to see a doctor. As a consequence, this might increase crime and threaten the public. Moreover, individuals treating themselves with drugs might be more painful when they are sober since they might feel they are useless due to addiction to drugs, which might result in more serious mental illness. In conclusion, the growing number of individuals tackling health problems with alternatives has its merits and demerits. In my opinion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantage, as long as people choose the methods wisely.