The impact that growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people traveling by air is to increase taxes on flights. To what extent do you think this could solve the problem?

At present in many countries there is a significant demand for air traffic and as a result of it, already it is becoming a major concern for the environment. Many believe one solution for this issue is to increase the cost of tickets by applying new taxes. I believe such measures may have positive effects towards the problem, but will not be a significant contributor to a sustainable solution. It is obvious that taxes help to increase the prices of any item and to reduce consumption. In terms of Air tickets, the output can be slightly less compared to a general commodity. Generally, the buying power of the people who use this mode of transportation is less sensitive to price fluctuations. To have a significant impact, governments may have to apply a considerable tax change, but eventually could lead to severe impacts on the economic aspects of the society. If we really want to minimise the impact on the environment due to flight activities, I believe the solutions should be sustainable and self-voluntary. While applying additional charges, measures are needed to implement where convenient to both parties; the supplier and buyer. One such solution could be to promote remote activities for work-related matters. Many are travelling because of their work schedules either to meet someone or to attend some conferences. If the demand is properly calculated and the remote working platforms are promoted, I expect many will turn toward the solution leading to a better sustainable solution on the matter. In conclusion, there is no doubt that the environment is facing impacts due to the increment in air traffic demand. Although many suggest implementing and adding new taxes, I believe it is more effective to implement self-voluntary sustainable solutions to overcome it.