Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages.

Thanks to globalisation, language has become a more important tool for communication. Some educationists argue that students should not wait until secondary school to start learning a new language, instead they should embark on their language -learning journey in their primary school. Since the proposed policy has both merits and demerits, in this essay I will review both sides to draw a conclusion. Such earlier exposure to a new language has many advantages. Firstly, young children whose brains are still developing are more sensitive to languages. For example, sometimes they could understand people without knowing the meaning of specific words, just the way they master their mother tongues. Therefore, compared with elder learners, whose language learning could be less productive, they could develop greater interests in the subject and get further motivated by their progress. On the other hand, however, it also has a few disadvantages. Some say that young children are supposed to explore their own interests at their will, rather than being forced to learn another new subject at an early age. Besides, given the limited resources in some countries, it is highly possible that children may not be equipped with language teaching aids scientific and strategic enough. For instance, in some remote regions in China, many families are too poor to afford education, not to mention English learning. In some cases, if children are trained to learn English the way they crack exams, it would only dampen their interest. To summarize, adding a new language to the existing primary school curriculum may cause some problems. But if they can be skilfully handled without straining both the schools and children, the advantages would definitely outweigh the disadvantages.