The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made overseas travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The launch of various budget airlines worldwide over the past ten years has led to a significant reduction in airfares making international air travel more affordable and accessible. This essay will discuss the drawbacks concerning pollution and reduced customer service, as well as the economic and other benefits of this trend. There are certain disadvantages to increased overseas flights and low-cost carriers, with the main ones being a rise in carbon emissions and compromised service. Aircraft burn substantial amounts of fossil fuel, contributing to greenhouse gases and global warming. Furthermore, the more people fly, the larger the carbon footprint they generate. For example, globally, aviation accounts for around 2.5% of CO2 emissions and makes up a much larger share of the personal carbon footprint. Secondly, in order to reduce the cost of airfares, budget airlines control their operating expenses tightly, which often means providing poor customer service. Many passengers, for instance, regularly complain on social media about the unempathetic attention they receive both on and off the flight. On the other hand, this development has various advantages, such as people being able to visit new destinations for leisure or business easily and tourism industry spinoffs because of more tourists. Regarding the former, cheaper flights can encourage families and business people alike to broaden their horizons by experiencing new places and cultures while enriching their lives as well as the local communities. As for the latter, many destinations depend heavily on foreign tourist income, which increases as budget flight fares decrease. For example, tourism accounts for almost one- third of the total GDP of most countries in the Pacific. If visitor arrivals decline there due to high airfares or limited flights, it would result in major unemployment and economic losses. In conclusion, while nations can significantly gain from the foreign income earned by the increase in the number of frequent tourists because of the affordability and availability of cheap flights, it can also lead to a further rise in pollution and risk harming our planet.