Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that university admission processes as a whole have become more competitive than ever in recent years, with many still being rejected despite their astounding and over-the-top achievements and qualifications. I believe that education is a basic human right that everybody should have access to up until high school. Although this might sound controversial, I do not think college is a requirement and hence, it would naturally have stricter, more selective rules applied to it. Logically speaking, it would not be possible to admit all applicants regardless of their grades or other qualifications as there is a maximum number of students a college can accept and there would be no true basis on which they can reject applications. Moreover, since the university would have nothing to base the applicants on, they cannot cater to them well by identifying their weaknesses and talents. In addition, some courses are very academically rigorous and require a strong foundation. On the other hand, I acknowledge the ridiculous standards to which some universities uphold their applicants. It is all too common to hear about freshmen putting tremendous pressure on themselves to exceed but still getting rejected. This phenomenon is especially prevalent among international students planning on studying abroad. This along with many other factors such as finances has caused many students to not pursue a higher degree leading to them not finding well-paying jobs and generally being dissatisfied with their lives. Overall, I do not 100% support nor go against admission being provided to students despite their academic performance, though I do lean towards opposition more as I believe its advantages outweigh its disadvantages greatly.