More and more developing countries are expanding their tourist industries. Why is this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Developing countries need to use various strategies to boost their economy, with tourism proving to be one of the most successful industries. Expanding the tourist industry can have both positive and negative developments. Improving tourism holds several advantages for nations. One of the benefits of improving tourism is the potential result of higher reputation of one's nation. When tourists enjoy visiting one's nation, they will share good reviews of their experience through word of mouth and consequently encourage more people to travel there. By attracting visitors from other nations, host nations can provide more business to local organisations, developing local talents and promoting the use of their goods and services. That can increase the quality of life and job satisfication of its citizens. On the other hand, too much tourism can have adverse effects as well. The increase in demand for businesses in the tourism sector could reduce the attention paid towards organisations that are not in this sector. If a country proves to be an extremely attractive travel destination, local businesses would be unable to keep up with higher demand as a result of imbalance with supplies and resources. The reduction in attention together with the high numbers of people can result in a lower life satisfaction for local inhabitants. To conclude, the tourist industry can have both pros and cons depending on how much and in what ways it is expanded. Governments of various countries should listen to local voices before making major decisions on the expansion of their tourist industries.