In some countries, it can be very difficult for people over the age of 50 to get good jobs, despite their experience. What do you think are the causes of this problem, and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In today’s world it is getting more and more harder to get a good job, especially after the age of 50. From my perspective, this is mainly caused by rapid development of computer technologies and artificial intelligence. Jobs that were highly wanted in past generations from 20th century, today are replaced with robots that are based on artificial intelligence. Therefore, a portion of world population lost their jobs, and with further development, more are going to. Education systems and curriculums that past generations went through are much different from those that today’s generations go through. For instance, past generations didn’t have obligatory informatics classes in school because that kind of science wasn’t developed enough and jobs employers weren’t insisting on computer science knowledge and skills that go with it. However, today are those sets of skills required for almost all administrative or science orientated occupations. For people over the age of 50 it is harder to adapt to said changes in society than today’s generations that are in contact with new technologies from a very young age. Even though it is harder to adapt to new technologies for people over the age of 50, they have something that younger people don’t, and that is experience. Every employer is looking for a motivated and flexible employee, preferably with experience. The solution to the problem of unemployed people over the age of 50 would be something similar to entrance examination. Except for regular applications for jobs and interviews, I think that some kind of entrance exam that would determine the candidate’s knowledge that is required for some job position would be the fair way for everyone to be equal. Also, a lot of people forge their diplomas, and entrance exams would also be a perfect solution for that. To summarize everything said, it is harder to find a job for people over the age of 50 because they are not used to fast development of technology as younger generations are. The solution to that problem would be entrance exams that would determine the real knowledge of a candidate.