In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, it is a common belief that buying an accommodation is more crucial than renting one. From my perspective, this is a negative circumstance that can lead to severe consequences in the future. Initially, it is undoubtedly seen that renting lodging has lower upfront costs since citizens only have to pay a small rental fee each month. Additionally, it is undeniable that renting a home will support the dwellers, especially young people and low-income workers to save a huge amount of money in maintenance costs and property taxes. Take Australia as a good example, international students in Australia tend to rent a house due to numerous reasons that I have mentioned above. Another point to discuss is that renting a home will have more flexibility than obtaining one. One reason behind this is that residents are able to move to another place conveniently depending on their business without facing many difficulties when owning real estate. Another factor to consider is the potential for foreclosure as occupants who own a home tend to get a bank loan to buy it. Therefore, they must keep up with mortgage payments, if they lose their job, they will be unable to maintain this business. Consequently, they will be at risk of foreclosure and it will result in the loss of their house and damage to their credit score. In conclusion, I would say that renting accommodation will be more beneficial and have fewer risks than owning it regarding flexibility, lower repair and upfront costs, and no asset taxes.