The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Elders think everyone should follow the conviction to live, while some youngsters think otherwise, saying that notion is not suitable for youngsters living in contemporary society. While some traditions may have places, I am still strongly convinced by the view that teenagers need a new lifestyle. To begin with, some convictions play a crucial role even in the current world. Some detrimental behaviours could be curbed because of the guidance of these principles of conduct. In other words, through the teaching of the conventional rule, people know how to distinguish right and wrong, as a result, they also tend to do ethically wrong things less. But now, many traditional rules are behind the times. Some of these are too old, therefore with the development of public awareness, these can not be justified any longer. For instance, in the past, girls were seen as those who have no right to education, it is only a privilege for boys, however, nowadays gender equality had become a common view among the public. What is more, the situation has changed, we face a world which is different from the past. Many new things are exposed to us, which means new ways of living, thinking and behaving are needed. For example, it is obvious that people who lived before the invention of the internet had no idea about how to face it, so the young need their own attitudes towards it, there is no possibility for the old notion to be the guideline for them. In conclusion, it is true that some conventional notions belonging to the old generation could be justified in some ways, but I suppose it is better for the new generation to have an open mind to a world in change.