Nowadays, consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What do you think are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, it is a noticeable phenomenon that people are influenced by advertising less and less in their consuming habits compared with before. In my opinion, I firmly believe this trend is a positive development. The reasons for this trend could be manifold. Firstly, the increased consumer rationality makes consumers think more before they place an order. Nowadays people prefer to choose products based on their quality and practical use rather than relying on advertising alone. They tend to shop around, comparing prices and features to find the best value for their money. Additionally, consumers pay more attention to the product's reputation and users’ reviews and in addition, not be manipulated by advertising like before. For example, when a consumer is considering buying a new smartphone, he or she might search online shopping platforms or social media to see feedback from other customer rather than placing an order based on advertisements alone. Secondly, People’s consumption habits have changed. Thanks to the prevalence of the internet and social media, people have more opportunities to access product information, which has become more transparent. This has led to less reliance on traditional advertising. I perceive this situation as a positive development. On the consumer level, rational consumption will reduce the waste of resources. Choosing products that better meet buyer ’ needs will save resources in the long run. On the manufacturer’s level, the precision of internet-based recommendations could reshape the advertisement model. Manufacturers no longer need to invest huge amounts of money in traditional advertising to attract customers. Instead, they can prioritize enhancing the quality and researching the development of their product. Therefore, it is a win-win situation for both customer and manufacturers. In conclusion, I hold the view that this represents a favourable and encouraging trend, one that bears the potential to bring about numerous constructive outcomes.