Some people think that people should be given the right to use freshwater as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of freshwater. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Water is a precious natural resource for human survival, and it is generally argued that people have the right to utilize clean water as much as they wish; diametrically oppose that, some individuals support the authorities to regulate the amount of freshwater citizens can use. Personally, I am of the latter opinion due to these following questions. On the one hand, it is undeniable that water is usually considered similar to other commodities which can be brought by money. In other words, water is charged by the volume used and becomes personal possession for different functions such as cooking, drinking, farming, and sanitation. Furthermore, supporters of free water usage put forward that if governments do not ensure human beings’ freedom to access safe water, it will bring on conflicts of interest because dwellers pay a sum to enjoy this resource, therefore, no one can have a word to criticize the way they use freshwater and prevent them from their privilege. Nevertheless, nobody would think of questioning that water is also a finite resource and should be imposed restrictions by the bodies. To put it differently, it bears resemblance to other natural resources which are limited and play crucial roles in human daily life. Recently, PSY - a famous Korean singer – splashed three thousand liters of drinkable water for recreational purposes in his concert while some regions in this country suffered from severe droughts. This case has faced harsh criticism and illustrated wasting water in societies. Consequently, if individuals continue to use water carelessly and this source is not managed by the states, our future generations will undergo a shortage of freshwater since only one percent of water which is clean can be used for human activities. Hence, strict regulations need introducing to encourage people to use water more wisely and reduce water wastage. In conclusion, in the views of the aforementioned arguments, my unshakable conviction is that suitable governmental interference can benefit people’s safe water access and save this resource for the future.