In many cities, CCTV cameras are being used in order to tackle crime. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the past few years, it has become widely popular to install video cameras to deal with felonies. Although this development has breached the privacy of individuals, the benefits of it such as a reduction in the rate of violations and better security are more helpful in making the city a safer place. In my opinion, this evolution is more beneficial. The main advantage of video recorders is that it has decreased illegal acts in urban areas. The reason is, criminals are aware that they will be caught easily if they commit a crime where these systems are installed. For instance, a few years ago, Karachi, which is the biggest city in Pakistan, had the highest number of crimes worldwide but since the introduction of CCTVs, the enticement to perform violations by individuals has reduced significantly. In addition to this, this innovation has provided an extra set of eyes when no one is available, hence increasing the safety of the area or shops. On the other hand, this technology of recording people every time breaches the privacy of people. Once these are put in place, they start recording constantly until the memory card has reached its full potential. As a result, it raises concerns for individuals who culturally keep their women away from the eyes of men and are recorded unknowingly. For instance, Muslims in Pakistan are very considerate of showing their wives to the Public, but almost every shop, these days, has video recorders and therefore their security is breached. In conclusion, these cameras have become highly useful to deal with felonies in recent times. While it interferes with the privacy of a person, the other outcomes such as fewer crimes and the safety of the city are superior. Thus, I'm inclined to believe that this is a positive development.