Nowadays in many countries chemicals are used to produce and preserve food. Do the advantages of this use outweigh the disadvantages?

Although the broad use of chemical contents in order to produce edibles and keep them fresh is thought by some to be a practical and efficient practice in various regions, other people consider that it can be detrimental. Not only do additives and preservatives play a crucial role in providing a greater variety of foodstuffs, but they also extend the period of freshness. Nevertheless, there are also drawbacks related to health and safety issues to be taken into account. Firstly, chemical contents are proven to be an effective method to add more flavour to the raw ingredients, offering us an abundant range of options when we think about the next meal to have. Protein powder, for example, a must-have nutritional supplement for professional athletes which is too nasty to consume with its original taste, has more than twenty different flavours, such as vanilla and coconut, to satisfy each consumer’s taste. Secondly, the application of preservatives guarantees food with a longer shelf time, and thus we can have edibles stored in a refrigerator for much longer. In some developing countries where the shortage of food is severe, donated, canned food with preservatives can be kept for so long that local people will be less likely to suffer from hunger. On the other hand, one problem when chemicals are mixed with edibles is that it potentially exposes ordinary people to food allergies and more serious digestive diseases, such as stomach cancer. Despite most chemical substances being harmless, some have a variety of toxicological properties which might cause negative effects on animals and humans. Another possible issue is that the use of chemicals sometimes destroys the nutritional value of nourishment, preventing consumers from getting appropriate nutrition. To give an example, milk consumed two years after its date of production is testified with less percentage of protein, compared to freshly produced one. In conclusion, while the use of chemical contents can impose public threats on food safety, there is no doubt that food chemistry brings about more significant benefits to the globe, by granting us more flavours and a longer period of freshness.